WEBCAST TODAY: @a11yvr – Designing Augmented Reality Systems to Empower People with Low Vision @YuhangZhao1 #a11y #XR

livestreamOn Thursday October 22 2020 at 7pm EDT / 23:00 UTC / 8am JST (Fri) the Accessibility VR Meetup hosts ‘Designing Augmented Reality Systems to Empower People with Low Vision‘ on Mozilla Hubs.

Low vision is a visual impairment that falls short of blindness but cannot be corrected by eyeglasses or contact lenses. Unlike people who are blind, low vision people have residual vision and extensively use their vision in daily activities. However, prior research has mainly focused on providing only audio and tactile feedback for blind users, overlooking low vision people’s residual vision and unique needs. To address this gap in low vision accessibility, Yuhang Zhao, a postdoctoral researcher at Cornell Tech, seeks to leverage the residual vision that low vision people have, and design intelligent augmented reality (AR) systems that provide direct visual augmentations according to the users’ visual abilities and tasks.

LIVESTREAM: https://livestream.com/internetsociety/a11yvr10

PARTICIPATE: https://hubs.mozilla.com/G6edX79/a11yvr-project/

REAL TIME TEXT: https://www.streamtext.net/player?event=a11yvr

TWITTER: @a11yvr  @YuhangZhao1

SIMULCASTS:
https://youtu.be/xwWx5B_W0AI

https://www.pscp.tv/ISOC_Live/
https://www.twitch.tv/isoclive

ARCHIVE
https://archive.org/details/a11yvr10